Dell Orto carb service after head gasket replacement

PostPost by: pimkeirle » Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:54 pm

I am just carrying out a head gasket replacement on my +2S 130/5. As per workshop manual, I have removed the head complete with carbs. The carbs were completely rebuilt 10,000 miles ago and the car was running really well with good performance and economy prior to head removal - I have only carried this out because I have noticed that the radiator pressurises slightly after starting up, and the car had started to use a little more water than it used to ( I can now see a couple of places on the gasket that show water staining) I am tempted to leave the carbs alone on the principle of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". What do other owners think, should I get them rebuilt anyway while they are off the car, and if not, will I fatally disturb anything when I turn them upside down to clean up the head?
Any advice welcome as I am a total novice with elan engines. Total mileage is 79,000, engine rebuilt at 52,000. carbs re-built at 69,000.
pimkeirle
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: alaric » Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:29 pm

Hi. If the car was running fine then I can't see why you'd need to rebuild them now. Personally I'd leave them alone. I'd probably go through the full set up procedure once the head is back on. I have a carbtune II 4 column manometer that screws directly into the barrels of the Dellortos, and shows how well the carbs are balanced. Using this and setting up the mixtures following the procedure in Des Hammil's book (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Build-Power-Del ... 1903706750) got my engine running nicely.

All the best.

Sean.
alaric
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: hartley hare » Thu Dec 30, 2010 2:21 am

agree with above,about not rebuilding them,as for any damage when turning them upside down,this shouldnt cause any problems,but you will find it easier to set ignition timing with front carb off anyway....