Top Dead Centre

PostPost by: trw99 » Sun Jul 31, 2022 11:56 am

Blimey!

I am not an engineer in any sense of the word. (I have often noted that Elan owners do have some sort of engineering background, however!). I was swapping out my dizzy cap and leads and found that the engine was not at all happy thereafter, such that I put back the old leads and cap. Previously the engine had been running fine.

So I did what I'm sure we all do, use the search function here and I find I likely need to find TDC and re-set the timing. I have never done this myself before. Well, a pint of beer, packet of crisps and a packet of nuts later, my head is spinning. And not from the beer.

Type TDC into the search box and you'll understand. So many varying opinions and ways and views and differences of opinion!

I did find one reasonably simple (and therefore most suited to my equally simple mind!) solution. I replicate it below, fully in the knowledge that a, you will all think me simple, b, you have a better method to find TDC, c, that I have added to the confusion to be gained from anyone else searching on how to find TDC and d, I may have set the hare running - again!

If I remember correctly this came from the much-missed Steve Waterworth:

"Another trick to find top dead center.

1) Turn engine so cyl 1 is well before TDC
2) Inset a stick in cyl 1 spark plug, lay a straight edge across the cam cover, mark the stick even with the straight edge.
3) Now also mark the pully.
4) Rotate the crank, the stick will rise as it approaches TDC. Keep turning till it goes over TDC and starts coming down. Stop when the mark on the stick aligns with the straight edge again. You are now the same number of degrees AFTER TDC as you were BEFORE TDC.
5) Mark your pully again.
6) Half way between these two marks is TDC.