Thinner Valve Tappets

PostPost by: paw140 » Wed Jun 02, 2021 12:48 pm

I'm still pretty new to the Elan world and thought I was really close to getting my 69 S4 on the road... I bought it last fall from a guy who bought it in the mid 70's, broke the timing chain in 1980, and it sat ever since. When I bought it, most of the car was in pieces but the engine was mostly put back together and the head was 'rebuilt' by a local machinist who supposedly specializes in older cars. I've recently gotten it to the point where I was able to drive it around the block a few times but noticed a tapping noise coming from one of the intake valves. So I took off the valve cover to check the clearances, and the #3 intake valve had zero clearance. I think the intake valve wasn't closing all the way, and the tapping noise was actually combustion gasses escaping a tiny bit back into the intake.

Last night, I got the camshaft off and removed the tappet, only to discover that the shim size is around 0.050" and is not thick enough to contact the tappet pad. So the tappet is basically pushing on the valve spring retainer, not the shim. I removed the rest of the intake tappets, and the shims range from 0.030" up to 0.050". From what I read on this forum, going thinner than 0.060" is big risk, both for possibly breaking the shim and also to ensure the tappet isn't hitting the valve retainer. Obviously the machinist who rebuilt the head didn't understand the implications of shimming a twin cam, and I won't be using him anymore.