Lotus Elan

Alternator to Solenoid Connection

PostPost by: Stevie-Heathie » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:13 am

Hi all,

I?m upgrading from my 51 year old Lucas Dynamo (generator) to a new Nippon Denso alternator using the Burton kit.

My question is how to connect the new 40A cable from the alternator to the starter solenoid. I think the existing Dynamo Feed (via the control box) connects to the spade connector. See photos. Is this okay (beefy enough) for the new connection from the alternator or should I put a ring connector on and go to the same large stud as the battery cable sits on?

Thanks
Steve
Attachments
10ca47de-427c-47ad-9edd-73c5cd2a00f3.jpeg and
53e86f29-0676-47cd-97a1-d9710abe2b3f.jpeg and
1967 S3 SE DHC
1970 +2S (RIP - went out in a blaze of glory in 2001)
User avatar
Stevie-Heathie
Third Gear
Third Gear
 
Posts: 252
Joined: 08 Dec 2015
Location: Thames Ditton, Surrey

PostPost by: nmauduit » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:44 am

depending on the specs of the alternator you are fitting, you may want to ensure that the connection to the battery (at the solenoid) can convey enough current without heating up : that includes the connector, where poor contact can result in local hot point. If your existing connection looks oxidized, somewhat lose or otherwise not up to an significant increase of current you should upgrade the connection as well.
S4SE 36/8198
User avatar
nmauduit
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear
 
Posts: 1465
Joined: 02 Sep 2013
Location: France

PostPost by: Stevie-Heathie » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:09 am

Thanks. To clarify:

- It?s a 40A alternator.
- I?m also installing a dummy control box which contains a 40A fuse.
- I?ll install new 40A cable from the alternator to the dummy control box, and from there to the solenoid.

I want to know which connectors to order to fit onto the two new lengths of 40A cable. On the alternator it?s a ring connector, and it?s two spades on the dummy control box. my question is would I be ok with using the spade at the solenoid too?

What do others do?

Best
Steve
1967 S3 SE DHC
1970 +2S (RIP - went out in a blaze of glory in 2001)
User avatar
Stevie-Heathie
Third Gear
Third Gear
 
Posts: 252
Joined: 08 Dec 2015
Location: Thames Ditton, Surrey

PostPost by: RogerFrench » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:55 am

Short answer - yes. You can buy a new spade if your old one is a bit tatty. Our S3 has an alternator with connection to a spade.
1967 Elan S3
1972 Europa Twin Cam
2005 Elise
User avatar
RogerFrench
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 617
Joined: 01 Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, TX

PostPost by: gus » Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:00 pm

You should replace the wire, it is not large enough for 80 percent more current

they should be supplying you a new wire
gus
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear
 
Posts: 620
Joined: 05 May 2011

PostPost by: Stevie-Heathie » Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:53 pm

Thanks all.

I?ve ordered new 42A rated wire (84 strands of 0.30 / 6.0mm2), and I?ll be fitting new insulated spade connectors at the solenoid and dummy control box, with an insulated ring connector with a rubber boot on top at the alternator.

Best
Steve
1967 S3 SE DHC
1970 +2S (RIP - went out in a blaze of glory in 2001)
User avatar
Stevie-Heathie
Third Gear
Third Gear
 
Posts: 252
Joined: 08 Dec 2015
Location: Thames Ditton, Surrey

Total Online:

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests