Alternator / charging issues on an early plus 2

PostPost by: gibbon » Tue May 12, 2015 8:29 pm

Hello there,

I would very much appreciate the wisdom of the forum, as I am new to the marque.

I have a charging issue with my '68 plus 2.

Symptoms -
* Ignition light does not come on at all, at any point in of the key turn or with engine on or off, nothing
* Battery taken out and charged, shows 12.61v when disconnected, shows the same when connected and ignition off, so I assume no parasitic losses
* Voltage drops to 12.28 - 12.31 when engine running irrelevant of revs
* Car works fine for a couple of weeks light use, then battery died, push started easily, ran fine from then on, but after a long drive battery still dead

Car information (apologies, as its new to me i shall try my best) -
* Is 1968 model, with positive earth 'RVI 2402/04' tachometer, which works, but I think is reading high and a little jumpy
* Speedometer pretty accurate but 'bounces slightly' (not sure if relevant)
* Appears to me that the battery is wired up as a -ve earth (the metallic looking cable connection is connected to the -ve terminal, big thick black cable to +ve terminal
* Has an alternator conversion, looks new to me, or at least fairly new
* I believe has an electronic ignition
* Has a battery kill switch in the boot
* Still has the original Ammeter, no Voltmeter, appears to swing slightly to the right, -ve when car running

I have read a little around this using the forums, which has helped a little, hence the above tests.

I tried to check whether the alternator was producing a charge but very much struggled to get to the wires (one red, one black) on the alternator, and struggled to make contact with the insulated connections on the alternator, I was also not sure where i should be attempting to earth the negative probe of my multimeter. Is there a trick to this that doesn't involve Mr Tickle arms?