Wiring circuit for relays in the window motor layout

PostPost by: worzel » Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:42 am

Hi

Any ideas on this one- I've copied the diagram shown on the picture but testing off the car there appears to be a short somewhere. I'm no expert on wiring although I've fitted relays to quite a few circuits in the past so I'm not a complete novice either but I can't figure out just what the problem is.

As an additional note why is it necessary to use two relays for each side- since these are switchover type whycan't one serve up/down?

All ideas/help gratefully received.

Regards

John
worzel
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: billwill » Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:05 pm

Sorry, which diagram are you referring to?
Bill Williams

36/6725 S3 Coupe OGU108E Yellow over Black.
billwill
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: billwill » Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:19 pm

This is the thread in which windows relays were discussed. The relevant circuit is the SECOND relay circuit shown as that is much safer than the first one I described.
electrical-instruments-f38/electrical-help-please-t22676.html

The console switches for the windows are not switch-over switches, they are centre off then on one way and on (to a different circuit) the other way. While you could probably find a single relay built to do that, it would be special, rare and expensive. It is simpler and less expensive to use two relays per door.
Bill Williams

billwill
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: billwill » Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:38 pm

Via the other topic, you say that you are using that diagram.

If you are getting a short circuit I suspect that there is an error in the wiring and it is not wired exactly as shown, double-check everything :)

Motor relay pin-out numbers are shown here:
http://www.accessconnect.com/car_relays.htm