Battery failure ?

PostPost by: steve.thomas » Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:57 pm

Hello everyone,
I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction concerning a strange electrical fault just developed on my Plus 2 (surely not I hear you say !).

The problem is just a click from the solenoid when trying to start the engine, and then no electrics whatsoever - not even the interior lights. Wait for a few minutes and power returns, only to repeat the same sequence. The battery terminals and battery earth are clean and tight, as are the connections on the solenoid. What really puzzles me is that when there seems to be no power, I've tried jumping across the solenoid with a screwdriver and get nothing, not even a spark. Even more strange is if I rock the car very gently, power returns (temporarily). Is this a symptom of battery failure and the rocking is just swirling the battery acid around and maybe making some internal connection? As you may gather I'm no electrician, so any suggestions gratefully recieved.
Steve
steve.thomas
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: Frank Howard » Sat Oct 30, 2010 6:25 pm

Steve,

I think your battery is done. Try substituting a battery from another car. Good luck.
Frank Howard
'71 S4 SE
Minnesota
Frank Howard
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: curly type 26 » Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:53 pm

just a thought try earth connection on left front upright in engine bay.good luck curly :D
curly type 26
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: hartley hare » Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:06 pm

hi there
it does sound like a battery problem...
quick test is put headlamps on do they go out when cranking?
if so its battery, even if connections look good..
also when you say rocking car,are you talking about in gear and checking for jammed starter?
if so this could also give symptoms of no sparking at solenoid...
otherwise its check all main connections,and previous suggestions,
just my view...
all the best..

keep us posted...
hartley hare
Second Gear