Ambient temperature gauge

PostPost by: mikealdren » Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:10 am

I heard a variety of views on these:

Some say that they are a waste of time and cannot be repaired.

Others say that they can be refurbished but (for unexplained reasons) it doesn't always work.

I've also been told that the gas used is dangerous (wonder what it is).

Has anyone had one repaired/refurbished?

I suspect there's also a good market for an upgrade to fit a modern gauge with a remote electric sensor into a period gauge. Anyone tried it?

regards
Mike
mikealdren
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: pmallinson » Wed Oct 31, 2007 9:06 am

Mike

The gauge, Capillary and Bulb are what's know as a vapour pressure system (I'm a time served instrument tech many years ago ! :shock: )

Basically it works on the fact that all liquids give off some gasses and dependent on the temperature they are at give off more (increasing temp) or less (decreasing temp) so using this phenomenon a pressure gauge connected by a thin pipe (the capillary) to a vessel (the bulb) full of a liquid will monitor the pressure of the gas above that liquid and then we mark the scale in temperature as it equates to the gas give off at a certain temperature !! :shock: (that was 30 years ago in tech )

I'm not certain but nearly sure that the ones on the Elan being the temperature range they are will be full of some sort of alcohol so not particularly dangerous (unless you wanted to try and drink it !)

So That's how the originals work or not if the gas has been allowed to escape through a hole in the system which is the case for 99% of failures.

As for fixing them there are a few people who say they will mentioned in previous threads but JDO Inst Eng's
[url]http://www.jdo1.com/page8.html[url]
may be worth contacting as well as Speedograph Richfield Ltd
[url]http://www.speedograph-richfield.com[url]