could you help me to recognize this driveshaft conversion ?

PostPost by: huggy » Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:08 pm

I'm new to ownership so I have few newbie questions: :D

When I bought my Elan (S2 S/E DHC on Spyder chassis) previous owner gave me this conversion and told me it is a Spyder one and he didn't put it on car because he used it in the mountain and rotoflex where better for this use...... :?:

Currently working in differential area so I think to make the conversion at the same time as parts are here but I'm confused:
- I found infos about hybrid Spyder driveshaft...but nothing for these "sliding" driveshaft
- As those parts where not fitted when I bought car I'm a bit suspicious:
- Do these parts fit my car? ( 66 S2 S/E DHC on spyder chassis)
- Are these parts Spyder one ? If not from were do they come from ?
- Are this conversion better than rotoflex for 115bhp road use only? with no downside?
- Any information about the mountain use of rotoflex welcome !

Thanks for your help !!
Last edited by huggy on Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IF IN DOUBT, FLAT OUT !
Colin Mc Rae
huggy
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: pharriso » Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:09 pm

They are "Performance unlimited" driveshafts, do a search on here...
Phil Harrison
1972 Elan Sprint 0260K
pharriso
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: john.p.clegg » Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:11 am

Had the above on my Plus2 for years , excellent upgrade but think there may be a problem fitting them to a b*by Elan as the driveshafts are shorter and so the angle of dangle more acute and the u/js may catch/lock up.

John :wink:
john.p.clegg
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: huggy » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:09 pm

Thanks for answers :D

Yes I made a search on forum and they seems commum modification en +2 ......but very few if not on baby ones :?

So the question is:

I need to change a diff bolt (Diff to boot floor): How van they broke there ?!

I have 2 solution: