Page 1 of 1

5 speed to 4 speed

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:39 pm
by Robbie693
Hi,

I've been looking for a +2 S-130/4 for ages now, to replace my lamented previous example, but I just can't seem to find one that measures up to how I want, (I'm a bit picky :D )

Plenty of 5 speeds around though, so I was wondering if anyone could give me their opinions on buying a 5 speed and converting it.

Specifically, is it a cost effective solution. I assume the bits I will need are, Bell housing, box (obviously) mounting plate and prop shaft and that these will not be too expensive but, (this is the reason I say cost effective,) how much should I expect this work to cost at a specialist? (Probably Paul Matty)

I could probably do it myself but time and garage space may be prohibitive, hence the question.

Cheers

Re: 5 speed to 4 speed

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 4:14 pm
by john.p.clegg
You could probably get a swap from someone who wants to exchange their four speeder for a five speeder,all you need then is the labour
John

P.S. i may be willing??

Re: 5 speed to 4 speed

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:44 pm
by elansprint
You could sell your complete 5 speed set up & buy a 4 speed set up having money left over towards fitting the 4 speed setup. Whilst i would agree the change is better on the 4 speed if you have the 5 speed rebuilt (Sue millar does them at very reasonable cost assuming it is not wrecked)it is a lot nicer for A road & motorway work

Re: 5 speed to 4 speed

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:59 am
by Hamish Coutts
Woke,

What on earth are you on about?

Hamish.

Re: 5 speed to 4 speed

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:09 pm
by types26/36
Well whatever it is its got something to do with "proxy" :lol:
Brian

Re: 5 speed to 4 speed

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 1:21 pm
by GrUmPyBoDgEr
Think it maybe connected with this Hamish?

<span style='font-family:Arial'><span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span

Could be the start of acomplete new discussion group!

I'll get me coat!

Re: 5 speed to 4 speed

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 3:09 pm
by Si_130/5
Hi Robbie 693,

I've heard the four and five speed 'box gearlever locations are slightly different so you may also require a centre console from a 4-speeder.

Best wishes,
Si