Hard Top For Elan Sprint Dhc

PostPost by: D. John Ward » Mon May 24, 2004 1:26 pm

I'm pretty new to the world of Lotus Elans, my only previous experiences being (1) lying to a girl in 1973, telling her that my Elan was being serviced, hence my driving up in a Ford Anglia (1500 GT engine though!), and (2) helping a friend rebuild his Elan +2.
I'm seriously contemplating the purchase of a very nice 1972 Elan Sprint DHC, but wondered whether anyone ever made a detachable hard top for them, and if so, are they obtainable?
Any info appreciated....as well as advice on what to be aware of in the way of pitfalls for the prospective Elan Sprint purchaser.
I live near Oxford in the UK.
Cheers
John
D. John Ward
New-tral

PostPost by: steveww » Mon May 24, 2004 2:44 pm

There may be a few original hard tops knocking about with the usual breakers. Tony Thompson advertise hard tops for all Elans.

If you are looking to buy a sprint, make sure it is a real sprint and not a copy. It is quite easy to take an S4 and add some paint and stickers and hey presto one sprint. There is quite a good general buying guide on <a href='http://www.bestelan.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/' target='_blank'>http://www.bestelan.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/</a>

If you have not already done so join Club Lotus and / or Lotus Drivers Club as the club magazines have plenty of adds.

Good Luck :D
steveww
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: sk178ta » Mon May 24, 2004 4:13 pm

Hardtop ?????
I think you`d be better off buying a Z3..............or a life !!!!!!
sk178ta
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: D. John Ward » Mon May 24, 2004 4:32 pm

Thanks for info re hard tops - regardless of other peoples opinions, they do have their uses!
I'd heard about the fake Elan Sprint scam, so how do you tell?
Chassis number of one I'm looking at seems to be in correct sequence, commences 7206 and ends with G.
Cheers
D. John Ward
New-tral

PostPost by: bvt » Mon May 24, 2004 4:43 pm