Driver window glass stuck open— Elan+2

PostPost by: Rickrey » Thu Aug 18, 2022 7:07 pm

I’m a newbie with Lotus, although I have had many other British cars. I purchased a +2 about three weeks ago. The windows moved up and down, reluctantly, during my drive home. I pulled in my driveway and the drivers side window would not go up.
I noticed that the drivers window came down rapidly— from about halfway down—the last couple times I opened it— (rain showers).
I have checked fuses and removed the door card and checked voltage to the motor— all good. Ground is good. I think the motor wants to work as I noticed the Brake Fail(another issue) light dims when I operate the window switch— both up and down.
Is it possible that the window is jammed in the open position? I see I can access the bottom of the window arm through the door light holes. I am thinking of applying pressure to the bottom of the window, but, don’t want to break anything.
I haven’t been able to find a good picture/drawing of the window lifting mechanism.
Any suggestions would be appreciated !
Rickrey
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: alaric » Thu Aug 18, 2022 9:44 pm

Hi. Welcome to the joy of Lotus.

The window runs in felt lined slots in the chromed metal window frame. The motor operates an arm that raises and lowers the window, so in some ways it's simpler than wire operated electric windows.

I think the window is held level just by the felt slots I.e. the arm from the motor runs along the bottom of the window as it is raised.

So, it would not be unreasonable to assume it's twisted slightly, especially if, like my +2, it hasn't seen rain for a long time, and got a bit sticky.

But it may have broken where the arm fits to the window. I'd need to check how it fits in to remind myself but i think its a little bush that runs in a slot. If that's the case you should be able to raise the window by hand I think. You would need to remove the motor, which comes out of the aperture in the fibreglass skin.