Modernizing the wiring

PostPost by: carfixer24 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:45 pm

Hi All,

I'm currently in the process of replacing the Prince of Darkness's wiring in my father's Elan with a Painless Performance chassis harness and a few other bits and pieces. I plan to document this process here (at least if I remember to take pictures and such).

I'm an auto tech by trade, but by no means an old car or Lotus expert, so I may need to call on some expert help as well.
Attachments
img_20161120_104237063_hdr.jpg and
Current state of wiring on the back of the dashboard
img_20161120_103951201.jpg and
Some of the Lucas spaghetti already removed
fb_img_1479664944247.jpg and
Painless Performance chassis harness kit
carfixer24
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: Gordon Sauer » Sat Nov 26, 2016 6:43 pm

Just be sure and make up a wiring diagram. I recently passed on a car that had been totally rewired in non-spec form figuring there's no way I could ever figure out what they did. As it was when I bought my +2 in 89 it had pretty much all red wiring and I started it all over with a new loom from British wiring and then could follow the diagram and go by the standard British code. Gordon Sauer
Gordon Sauer
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: Certified Lotus » Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:31 pm

I re-wired an Elan S4 with a Harness from British Wiring. My strong recoendation is to just buy their ready made harness and as mentioned have a wiring diagram handy. I made a copy of the wiring diagram enlarged to 3' x 2' so it was easy to trace the circuits.

Be patient and keep cold beer near by........
Glen
05 Elise - Back where I started
65 Elan S2 - 26/4055
72 Europa - 74/2358R
69 Elan S4 - 45/7941
64 Elan S1 - 26/0379
12 Colin 30 - Lotus Racing Kart
07 Exige S - Wicked Road/Track Car
07 Exige S - Fast Road/Track Car
06 Elise - Track pack
Certified Lotus
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: carfixer24 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:22 pm