The MT75 "Silver shifter" - a DIY special

PostPost by: Pjr » Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:21 pm

Hi all,
I am fitting an MT75 and zetec to my Elan +2 shell as it currently is sans drivetrain. I am on a tight budget and so where possible I am trying to avoid buying conversion parts unless I have at least considered if i could make something myself. Sounds ok so far - lots of you do that all the time - but in my case I have no engineering background and no real facilities. With that in mind, I should like to reveal my latest, well first actually, creation.....

.....but before I do, please note that If you try this at home, you must bear in mind that I have no idea what I am doing....

So, the problem was how to make the direct gearlever mechanism for the MT75. Obviously, Spyder make a splendid and high quality part that the sane will obviously buy, but for the poor or adventurous I have made my own using

- an m10 rose joint
- a metal spacer, about an inch long threaded to match the rose joint
- another spacer of the same dimensions but smooth bored to m10
- the original MT75 gearbox bracket - the small one that stabilises the big remote gearchange bracket
- about 500mm 10mm diameter steel bar (i cut a bit off to make the pivot pin and the rest is the gear lever)
- 2 x 19mm m8 spacers to space the bracket off of the gearbox
- the longer pair of torx screws used to attach the old remote gerachange bracket.

It sounds alot, but its about ?15 worth of bits from ebay hardware sellers. i did not have to drill or tap anything. I got a friend to do the two bits of welding and the whole construction takes minutes.......and it works! You may wish to tinker with the measurements to make it more elegant, but i would suggest you dont want the fulcrum much higher than this and the rose joint needs to be pretty much straight above the rectangular end of the change rod.