Elan Evolution

PostPost by: tome.coelho » Sat Aug 28, 2004 7:32 pm

Hello folks. :)

Let me introduce myself, my name is Tom? Coelho, I?m Portuguese and I am mostly an Alfisti (means I like Alfa Romeo); but my girlfriend is pretty much a Lotus fan in the same way I am a Alfa lover. She that (rare) kind of girl who was born with the steering wheel on hands? great driver also. (lucky me)

The thing is, she?s about to buy a basket case Lotus, I didn?t went seeing it yet but it?s disassembled since it is a quitters car.

She asked me to restore the car since I have some experience in the job with some restoration under my belt, and I am collecting info on the car in order to evaluate the possible purchase.

My question is, since you all talk about 4 series of the Elan, what were the differences between them. I already searched the net and could not find a true document on the differences between models.

So please help me!

Author of <a href='http://www.ALFACuore.com' target='_blank'>ALFACuore.com</a>
tome.coelho
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: types26/36 » Sat Aug 28, 2004 8:59 pm

Tome,
Sorry to hear you are an alfa fan but your girlfriend has got a good taste in cars, it would take too long to list all the differences although they are not that much between the different series, it was just Lotus upgrading the same basic car.
Generally you can lump the S1/2's together and the S3/4/Sprints together, they got more powerful engines/electric windows/better weather equipment etc as they progressed.
Go to lotuselan.net as I think you will find most of the imformation there and welcome to Lotus-World. :)
Rgds Brian
Brian
64 S2 Roadster
72 Sprint FHC
types26/36
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: twincamman » Sun Aug 29, 2004 12:03 am