garage paint job my end results

PostPost by: evanlotus » Sun Jan 01, 2023 3:53 am

20221231_115825.jpg and
20221231_115825.jpg and

I just painted my elan in a simple garage. It took time and i am no pro at painting. Here are some photos of the process that i ndid. as you can see there was lots of fiberglass work. it took me 6 weeks to complete
Attachments
20230101_080134.jpg and
20221231_120134.jpg and
20221201_184846.jpg and
20221201_184900.jpg and
20221221_123826.jpg and
Last edited by evanlotus on Sun Jan 01, 2023 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
evanlotus
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: Ianashdown » Sun Jan 01, 2023 4:28 am

As I have this in my future, not for a while though, I’d be very interested to hear your choice of materials, lessons learned, what not to do etc.

That looks like a fabulous job. Well done!

Thanks,

Ian
Last edited by Ianashdown on Sun Jan 01, 2023 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ianashdown
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: UAB807F » Sun Jan 01, 2023 6:24 am

Well done, that looks amazing. 6 weeks is probably about right, I've usually spent a month or so doing repairs and leaving them to fully cure before final preparation.

For an "as sprayed" finish, that's got a superb finish. Leave it a few weeks and then polish, it's going to look like a red mirror !

Brian
UAB807F
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: evanlotus » Sun Jan 01, 2023 1:47 pm