Elan S4 Dash Harness

PostPost by: RAJ2628 » Thu Sep 08, 2022 3:09 pm

I bought a new harness for my S4 Elan from a well-known manufacturer.
I started with sorting out all the connections on the dashboard.
All the cables line up with the switches and instrumentation apart from the 3 wires needed to connect to the Heater Motor switch. (I have it labelled as Fan switch)
The Green/Yellow & one of the Green wires are there but about 14" away from where it should be.
I am not an electrical engineer, and this is my first attempt, so I might be doing something wrong, but everything else fits as I expected. On the attached photo I have circled where the cables are and an arrow showing the switch they need to connect to.
I have been in contact with the manufacturer and sent loads of pictures and, despite clearly seeing that the wires are in the wrong place,(I think) says that the loom was made correctly to the pattern.
I am asking if anyone on the forum has experience of something similar.

Dash 2.jpg and
RAJ2628
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: smo17003 » Thu Sep 08, 2022 4:47 pm

If it's anything like my S4 your heater motor should have a Green/Yellow, a Green and a White hardwired into it. The GY and the G connect directly to the switch (i.e. they're not actually in the harness), and the W is the earth (why didn't they use black?). The W should have a ring terminal which goes to one of the tunnel bobbin bolts. There should still be another Green on the harness, somewhere close to the switch. This is the power feed to the switch. It's confusing that the motor also has a Green wire.
Is the GY that you can see actually a Light Green/Yellow? If it's 14" away that puts it in the right place for the hazard warning lamp.

Mike
Mike
1967 S3 FHC
1968 S4 FHC
smo17003
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: RAJ2628 » Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:25 pm

Mike
Thanks for your advice.