really basic question

PostPost by: wolfchen » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:35 pm

new to elan's and looking at it a leery of jacking by fiberglass body points? too much stress on mounting bobins
and reaching the frame isn't easy either,

also no place to put a tow hook front or rear

opinion or common practice?

Jeffrey Vogel
wolfchen
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: steve lyle » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:23 pm

I'm relatively new to Elans, and don't trust jacking on the outer body either. I've got a fairly low-profile floor jack from Harbor Freight, cost me <$100. It can reach anywhere under the car. I took about a foot of 2x4, and drilled relief holes in the broad side for the bolt heads that bolt the body to the backbone at the rear. I put the 2x4 centered on the jack, push it in, make sure the bolt heads are in the relief holes, and jack away.

At the front, I put the 2x4 on the jack lifting point, and center it on the cross member.
Steve Lyle
1972 Elan Sprint 0248k @ https://www.mgexp.com/registry/1972-Lot ... 48K.30245/
1972 MGB Roadster @ https://www.mgexp.com/registry/1972-MG- ... 842G.4498/
2007 BMW 335i Coupe
steve lyle
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: JonB » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:27 pm

If it has a Spyder chassis there should be a front tow hook.

If it has solid sill strengtheners you can use blocks at the floor. I lay a piece of 6x4 hardwood along each sill just inboard of the sill edge. Like this:-

lotus-chassis-f36/packed-out-lower-steering-column-mount-t40777-45.html#p285346

Spyder use 2 post lifts with 6x6" load spreading pads.

Check the jacking points, they should be visible though holes in the sill. If they are rusted away don't lift it by the floor (as I just suggested).

Lots of discussion about this, try a search.

Also get a set of ramps from Halfrauds, very useful for a quick look.

Never jack the long tubes on the rear wishbones, they will bend.
JonB
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: nmauduit » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:05 pm