Old Elans owned: Can anyone help track them down?

PostPost by: hardcastlephil » Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:25 pm

Hi All - i'm new to this so please excuse any mistakes i make, but i'm hoping that someone on this site will be able to help me - or at least point in the right direction!

My Father was a mechanic through the 70's and had a string of Elans of all kinds. He has just retired and also purchased a basket case S3 to restore (after he's finished jobs for my mother of course!). I'm hoping for information on some of the cars - maybe you bought one from him? According to the DVLA one of the Elans below is still on the road - this is STH 10k - a yellow FHC sprint. I hope that the owner uses this site?

My father lived, and still lives just outside Pocklington in East Yorkshire - the house is pretty remote so i'm sure that people who bought or sold him elans would remember going there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. My email address is [email protected] and it would be great to hear from people.

Sorry about the picture quality - i scanned them in but had to crop them quite a bit to fit on the site.

Thank you

Phil
Attachments
rsz_1rsz_elan_plus_2_77.jpg
A Black Elan plus 2. Dad said that it never ran particularly well. It was bought by a chap who travelled up from London and was collected my my father at 6am from York station. Apparently my mum gave him breakfast only after he had produced a carrier bag full of cash! Taken in 77.
rsz_1rsz_elan_plus_2_77.jpg (24.1 KiB) Viewed 1476 times
rsz_yello_lotus_76.jpg and
This one came as just a shell to my dad in 75. It had no engine and i believe was sold on with a standard x-flow in! It had been destined to go to Sweden as a race car but never made it. I'm surprised its not around still?
rsz_dsw_833f_77.jpg and
DSW 833F - Bought from Kelso, my mum thinks it was a Mr Turnbull. Sold to a York milkman my father seems to think. Taken in 75.
rsz_1sth_10k_80.jpg and